Author Topic: Specific steps on creating a bridge connection between 2 (or more) routers  (Read 1731 times)

Offline TheSpecialOne91

  • Genin
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Country: tt
  • Chakra -1
  • Peace! Love! Loyalty! Respect!
    • PS3, PC
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
I'm not sure who to ask but here goes: Does anyone know the specific steps in creating a bridge connection between 2 routers? Reason being is that I bought a router and I wondered  "why not use it to extend the range of my wireless internet?" After doing the usual google searching and so on, I tried my hand in it and well I got true with it (more or less since my ps3 is online), but for clarification, if anyone who has similar experience in knowing the steps necessary to do so. Kudos!
« Last Edit: August 28, 2015, 02:46:45 PM by TheSpecialOne91 »

Carigamers


Offline TriniXaeno

  • Administrator
  • Akatsuki
  • *****
  • Posts: 18836
  • Country: tt
  • Chakra 14
    • :ps3::wii::xbox360:
  • Referrals: 35
    • View Profile
    • http://www.carigamers.com
  • CPU: Intel Core i7-2600K
  • GPU: Geforce GTX 680 2GB
  • RAM: 16GB
  • Broadband: :flow:
  • MBL: Nexus 5x
  • PSN: TriniXaeno
  • XBL: TriniXaeno
As is often the case in the tech world, there are many ways to do this.

Repeating the wireless signal itself is the worst way to go (reduces available bandwidth)

The ideal solution would be the extend the signal via ethernet cable to the second router.

You then have the choice of using the same ID or a different one.

Using the same allows devices to move seamlessly between the two wireless zones but has the off chance of a device becoming confused and connecting to one with a weaker signal.

Using a different wireless ID gives you the most flexibility as you can specifically pick the one you're closest too.

So you may have for example, UpstairsMansionWifi and DownStairsMansionWifi

If running an ethernet cable from one part of the house to another is problematic, you have the option of a powerline ethernet adapter. This will use the regular electrical wall sockets and wiring in your home as an "ethernet" cable to make the wired connection.
« Last Edit: September 04, 2015, 03:23:24 PM by TriniXaeno »

Offline TheSpecialOne91

  • Genin
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Country: tt
  • Chakra -1
  • Peace! Love! Loyalty! Respect!
    • PS3, PC
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
Thanks for the advice. Since it's the first time I ever tried to perform a wireless bridge connection, I wasn't too sure about it but your input cleared up most (if not all) any possible queries that I may have. Anything else I may come across, will let you know. Thanks.

Offline Saxito Pau

  • Global Moderator
  • Akatsuki
  • *
  • Posts: 3846
  • Country: tt
  • Chakra 15
  • Worms will never die!
    • Original NES
  • Referrals: 2
    • View Profile
  • CPU: Intel Core i7-3770
  • GPU: EVGA GTX 970 SC ACX2.0
  • RAM: Crucial Tracer 16GB DDR3-1600
  • BattleNet ID: SaxitoPau#1996
  • Broadband: Flow 60Mbps
  • Steam: Saxito Pau
Re: Specific steps on creating a bridge connection between 2 (or more) routers
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2015, 10:42:33 AM »

If running an ethernet cable from one part of the house to another is problematic, you have the option of a power over ethernet adapter. This will use the regular electrical wall sockets and wiring in your home as an "ethernet" cable to make the wired connection.

It's actually called  a PowerLine adapter (http://amzn.com/B00AWRUICG )

Power over Ethernet (PoE)adapter simply sends power and data over the same Ethernet cable to your PoE device. Convenient when a power outlet for your device is neither available nor practical.
God is dead.

Offline TriniXaeno

  • Administrator
  • Akatsuki
  • *****
  • Posts: 18836
  • Country: tt
  • Chakra 14
    • :ps3::wii::xbox360:
  • Referrals: 35
    • View Profile
    • http://www.carigamers.com
  • CPU: Intel Core i7-2600K
  • GPU: Geforce GTX 680 2GB
  • RAM: 16GB
  • Broadband: :flow:
  • MBL: Nexus 5x
  • PSN: TriniXaeno
  • XBL: TriniXaeno
Re: Specific steps on creating a bridge connection between 2 (or more) routers
« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2015, 03:23:54 PM »
correct, powerline ethernet adapter is what I meant to say.

I have a couple of them laying around in the shop, they work perfect in a pinch.

Carigamers

Re: Specific steps on creating a bridge connection between 2 (or more) routers
« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2015, 03:23:54 PM »

Offline TheSpecialOne91

  • Genin
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Country: tt
  • Chakra -1
  • Peace! Love! Loyalty! Respect!
    • PS3, PC
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
Nice  (+)

Carigamers


 


* ShoutBox

Refresh History
  • Shinsoo: bwda 2020 shoutboxing. omg we are in the future and in the past at the same time!
    March 03, 2020, 06:42:47 AM
  • TriniXjin: Watch Black Clover Everyone!
    February 01, 2020, 06:30:00 PM
  • Crimson609: lol
    February 01, 2020, 05:05:53 PM
  • Skitz: So fellas how we go include listing for all dem parts for pc on we profile but doh have any place for motherboard?
    January 24, 2020, 09:11:33 PM
  • Crimson609: :ph34r:
    January 20, 2019, 09:23:28 PM
  • Crimson609: Big up ya whole slef
    January 20, 2019, 09:23:17 PM
  • protomanex: Gyul like Link
    January 20, 2019, 09:23:14 PM
  • protomanex: Man like Kitana
    January 20, 2019, 09:22:39 PM
  • protomanex: Man like Chappy
    January 20, 2019, 09:21:53 PM
  • protomanex: Gyul Like Minato
    January 20, 2019, 09:21:48 PM
  • protomanex: Gyul like XJin
    January 20, 2019, 09:19:53 PM
  • protomanex: Shout out to man like Crimson
    January 20, 2019, 09:19:44 PM
  • Crimson609: shout out to gyal like Corbie Gonta
    January 20, 2019, 09:19:06 PM
  • cold_187: Why allur don't make a discord or something?
    December 03, 2018, 06:17:38 PM
  • Red Paradox: https://www.twitch.tv/flippay1985 everyday from 6:00pm
    May 29, 2018, 09:40:09 AM
  • Red Paradox: anyone play EA Sports UFC 3.. Looking for a challenge. PSN: Flippay1985 :)
    May 09, 2018, 11:00:52 PM
  • cold_187: @TriniXjin not really, I may have something they need (ssd/ram/mb etc.), hence why I also said "trade" ;)
    February 05, 2018, 10:22:14 AM
  • TriniXjin: The way those prices are, a person would be mad to even think about selling one of those GPUs
    February 01, 2018, 11:31:36 AM
  • cold_187: anyone hav a 1070 they willin to sell/trade?
    January 28, 2018, 06:26:46 PM
  • cold_187: tfw you want a graphics card but ur brokes
    January 28, 2018, 05:13:29 PM

SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal