Author Topic: Is the internet reducing our BRAIN exercise?  (Read 3924 times)

Offline W1nTry

• Administrator
  • Akatsuki
  • Chakra 109
  • Referrals: 3
    • View Profile
  • CPU: Intel Core i7 3770
  • GPU: Gigabyte GTX 1070
  • RAM: 2x8GB HyperX DDR3 2166MHz
  • Broadband: FLOW
  • Steam: W1nTry
  • XBL: W1nTry
Is the internet reducing our BRAIN exercise?
« on: July 15, 2011, 10:30:21 AM »
Came across an interesting article that sought to determine the relationship between the widespread availability of information via google and wiki and the deterioration or improvement of memory function. I for one have a saying (about my tertiary educations), "university made me dumb". Why you may ask? I considered myself much more creative and able to 'think outside the box' BEFORE I did my first degree IN Engineering. However the structure of the courses led me down a path of 'DO IT THIS WAY OR ELSE' for the sake of making the grade. That aside however, I do have to admit that with the ease of access of SO much information, it gives me the 'feeling' that I don't NEED to remember specifically as much as say when I was in primary school where they made you feel that you NEED TO KNOW EVERYTHING. So without further delay, have a gander at the article and let us know what you think, how google and wiki have affected your intepretation of 'NEED TO COMMIT TO MEMORY' and if you feel NOW that you actually know LESS than you ought to without the internets....

Study: why bother to remember when you can just use Google?
By Kyle Niemeyer | Published about 20 hours ago
Study: why bother to remember when you can just use Google?